Do You Need to Know More About the No-Fly List?

The “No-Fly” list is considered as a critical part of aviation security since it prevents identified terrorists from boarding planes. Federal partners and TSA as well as the law enforcement agencies and intelligence communities have joined efforts to gather knowledge into a single list that keeps the American nation, the airline passengers and the transportation systems safe.

TSA has committed personnel that can evaluate and update the No-Fly list, and make sure that all candidates meet the standards. This will create the baseline for the latest records being integrated into the system, and will considerably enhance the data’s quality.

As per recommendation of the 9/11 Commission and order of the Intelligence Reform and 2004 Terrorism Prevention Act, TSA is doing what is necessary to take on the requirements of watch list matching from the airlines via the Secure Flight plan. The latest matching method will be more efficient and reliable for those who travel, improving customer and security services. The Secure Flight plan aims to:

  • Identify alleged terrorists and let them undergo careful inspection;
  • Facilitate the travel of legal passengers; and
  • Protect the privacy and civil rights of the passengers.

TSA will be able to guarantee that the proper privacy protections are rooted in the Secure Flight plan, and that your personal info is well-guarded and only shared with the right people. This consists of personal information protection and Privacy Impact Assessment completion. This way, only minimal information needed to maintain travel security is gathered.

How does your name get removed from the No-Fly list?

The government of the US does not divulge how one gets included on the No-Fly list or how his/her name can be taken out of the list. Passengers who were not allowed to board the airlines or whose boarding was delayed due to security reasons can go to the Department of Homeland Security or DHS for a status change by filling-in an application to the DHS TRIP (DHS Traveler Redress Inquiry Program.

How to Know if You Are On the No-Fly List

In case your name is included in the list or another security related database of the US government, you may have experienced the following:

  • You undergo a second screening whenever you go through airport security checkpoint.
  • Your boarding pass was denied.
  • An airline ticket agent said that you are included in the federal government watch list.
  • You were detained.
  • An airline ticket agent took your ID then called someone before giving you a boarding pass.
  • While getting your boarding pass, you missed your flight.
  • You are always referred for additional screening upon clearing customs and entering US.
  • Your entry to the US is denied.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.